Massachusetts Home Invasion Laws
Home invasion or armed assault in a dwelling house is one of the most serious felonies in Massachusetts. In order to prove a defendant guilty of home invasion, the prosecution must prove the defendant breaks, enters dwelling house at nighttime or after entering dwelling house with intent to commit felony, armed with dangerous weapon at time of entry, or arming self with dangerous weapon in house, or making an actual assault on person lawfully inside house.
Massachusetts Home Invasion Penalties
If the defendant is convicted of home invasion, the person could face life in prison or not less than 10 years in state prison. If it is a second and subsequent offense, the defendant faces life or not less than 20 years in state prison. Even if it is a first offense, if armed with a firearm, the defendant faces not less than 15 years in state prison.
Massachusetts Home Invasion Defense Attorney
The penalties for home invasion are very high and the crime is taken very seriously. It is very important that you talk to an attorney if you are charged with home invasion. Attorney Chan will create an aggressive defensive strategy for your case.
Call Attorney Jason Chan at 508-808-8902 to talk about your home invasion case today.